Marsyas Trio

flute, piano, cello

Shadows of Time: the 13th B'ak'tun

Bold music that grabs you by the throat as the Marsyas Trio and the Smoking Apples puppeteers create an exceptional experience of sound and sight.
— Kaely Monahan (Everything Theatre)

Marsyas Trio and Smoking Apples present... silhouettes, shadow puppets and a trio of amplified flute, cello and piano tell the story of a planet travelling through time. The performance features musicians on stage bathed in shadows and light, accompanied by puppeteers projecting and manipulating visual images.

The ancient Mayans divided time into cycles of thirteen B’ak’tun; every cycle marked the event of renewal. Time cycles move forward from the beginning of time, through the earth’s expansive geological eras, past the glacial pace of evolving living organisms and onto the creation of humankind. The ensuing eras of human progress increasingly quickened, tumbling towards our modern Age of Information. This is a story of hope and renewal, of humanity’s common history and a reflection on the minute portion the human race occupies in the grand scheme of the universe.


Mario Lavista Canto del alba for solo flute (1979)    

Free improvisation Amplified cello and piano

George Crumb Vox Balaenae for electric flute, electric cello, electric piano (1971)
Vocalise (…for the beginning of time)    
Variations on Sea-Time: Sea Theme - Archeozoic - Proterozoic - Paleozoic - Mesozoic - Cenozoic
Sea-Nocturne (…for the end of time)

Laura Bowler Salutem (2014) composed for the Marsyas Trio
Stone Age
Bronze Age
The Middle Ages
Industrial Revolution
Modern Age

This project was first performed as part of the Grimeborn Festival 2014 at the Arcola Theatre in London, on 29 & 30 August 2014. The project was generously supported by the Britten-Pears Foundation, and Arts Council England. The piano was kindly supplied by Thornhill Pianos.

In collaboration with Smoking Apples & Size Zero Opera.

Produced by: Marsyas Trio
Associate Producer & Musical Director: Tom Green
Musicians: Helen Vidovich (flute), Valerie Welbanks (cello) & Fei Ren (piano)
Puppeteers: Smoking Apples (Molly Freeman, Matt Lloyd & George Bellamy) 
Lighting Designer: Anthony Arblaster
Sound Technician: Iain Armstrong
Videography: Fjords Media



©2019 Marsyas Trio